top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAnagha Anil

HAPPILY LOST IN NATURE - A PRETENCE OF HELPING OUT

The last two days were especially memorable for me, thanks to the interviewing assignment that my friend got for her CA. Usually, after a short banter with our friends we rush back home because it's hot in the afternoon and lunch is waiting for us back at our place. I should take that as my cue to pack snacks from now on to keep me going till noon. I'm turning into a starved little monster these days...Okayy we should get back to the topic!


The day before yesterday, me and my friends set out to interview a few people from our college after class . Two of them were in-charge of videography and did a very good job of it. With more than one person working on it, approaching people felt easier and more relaxing. My role was of great significance - I was the proud assistant who held onto our stuff and I took my duty very seriously.


In this endeavour, I got to meet new people yet again and it was fun to listen to them. We explored parts of the college I've never been to before and I found them amazing. One was the Pavillion Ground. I had imagined it to be a scorchingly hot place with no shade in sight. But I was wrong. It turned out to be one of the best spots in the campus with trees lining the side and stones to sit on. The breeze that blows your way in that open space is soothing. It seemed like a practice ground for many performances.


Yesterday was even better. The day was cool and cloudy as the sun took mercy on us. While the ones talking and filming did their stuff, I walked back and forth along the road, humming to myself and picking up the things I found interesting for a closer inspection. We also saw deer and I discovered seeds and fruits, the likes of which I've never seen before. I enjoyed the cool weather and the whole scenery around me. The lush green colour of the forest on either side of the black, tarred road was a striking contrast. The fallen leaves formed carpets on either side of the road. I can still picture that when I close my eyes.


In another spot near the Bishop Heber Chapel, me and my friend sat on the roots of a tree that was spread over the ground. We chatted while the other two were busy filming nearby. I was particularly intrigued by a tree which had quite a dark shade of brown. It looked aesthetically eerie and beautiful. Though small in comparison to the other trees, it had a commanding presence. I found it's allure motivating. But the most exciting moment of the day was yet to come.


(This is a picture of the tree I mentioned above. The photo credits go to my friend)


Just as we concluded our work, it started raining. We scrambled around getting our umbrella and crammed under two of them. The wind sprayed the rain drops on us instead of pouring down as usual . It got us wet despite all our umbrella-holding strategies. By the time we reached a building to take cover, I was surprisingly more drenched than the others. I mean, aren't the shorter ones supposed to get full coverage protection under the umbrella?! I felt cheated. It was the wind... it blew water from the side and got me from head to toe. I felt like the ground floor of the house that gets flooded while the top floors remain comparatively safe. And that's where my friends live.


So overall the day was one of much excitement. It was the day my wish of exploring the campus took wings and I will keep it flying. Yet, a day spent well need not end so well.... it was all joy and fun until I realised that my shoes won't get dry anytime soon. My favourite shoes...



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hostel Life Experience So Far

From 12th grade, I've always imagined how it would be to stay away from home for studies or work. I've been a day scholar throughout my...

Comments


bottom of page