top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAnagha Anil

Hostel Life Experience So Far

Updated: 5 days ago

From 12th grade, I've always imagined how it would be to stay away from home for studies or work. I've been a day scholar throughout my life and I have always enjoyed listening to my cousin sister talk about her college and hostel days. Even my aunt had once told me how staying at a hostel is important in one's life. It teaches us how to adjust with situations and look after ourselves.


I'm quite proud of my upbringing, especially in the values that were taught to me. Staying out of the supervision of my parents is an opportunity for me to test my principles and capabilities. Hence, I applied to colleges outside my state for my post graduation and here I am.


Though a bit hectic, I had enjoyed the process of moving and settling here. Making lists of Things to Bring, Things to Buy and ticking them off gave such a sense of achievement and satisfaction to me . Scouting for grocery shops, xerox and bookstores while taking a leisurely stroll in the neighbourhood with my roommate was another pleasant memory. My search for stores which sold second-hand books at an affordable price is still ongoing. Till I find one, online stores, and libraries will be my hunting grounds.


Another valuable lesson that hostel life teaches you is how to live on a fixed budget. Though it took me a while, I have finally got a hang of tracking and managing my expenses. For someone who doesn't like maths, I'm enjoying the simple calculations a lot. But I'm happy that I get to work my brain a little without using a calculator. Hope I don't turn into a miser. But still, the fact that I think twice and thrice before buying something feels like a small victory against capitalism. Huh! Try all you want, the ads won't work on me.

I have many more things to discuss like time management, diet planning, healthcare and other things in the context of hostel life. But I'll keep that for another day. Until then, see ya!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page