top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAnagha Anil

INTROVERT THINGS - MANAGING FLUCTUATING SOCIAL BATTERY LEVELS AT EVENTS

In this post I'm gonna list down a few interesting observations and some peculiar enjoyments of mine from attending a college event.Before I move on with that, I find it necessary to give you a small insight into my personality. I am an ambivert. I can’t call myself a complete introvert because I occasionally have my socially active, ultra extrovert moments. So yea, we ambiverts can be unpredictable, even to ourselves. So any eccentricity you find in my thoughts are purely because of my ambivert characteristics and nothing personal. I hope that's enough to ward off any suspicion that I am a weirdo....ha..ha..ha.


Without any further delay, let's get to the fun part.


The comfy feeling of being the adopted introvert

How do I describe this feeling...it's like getting on a direct bus without any confusion of changing buses. All you have to do is cling onto your extrovert(s),sit back and enjoy the journey. Occasionally you gotta smile and say hi to the countless number of people they talk to. If you are a small person like me, you can easily hide behind your friend when your social battery is low. Wonderful isn't it?


Zoning out when your extrovert talks God-knows-what to God-knows-who

It's those moments when your mind catches onto some stray line of thought (like the smell of a pizza or a dog coming your way) and you come back to earth to find your friend talking gibberish to someone and you can't figure out the context. But what do we all do? We nod, yea and hmm and inwardly pray that the guy just walk away so you can drag your friend to the food stalls.


The sudden interest in architecture and nature when you sit amongst strangers

How interesting it is to observe the ants, the beautiful sky, trace the patterns on a leaf or just observe the branches of a tree when you are surrounded by strangers bantering with each other. You put on a pleasant, content smile, and grimace inside at how freaking long your friend takes to come back. You can also take an excruciatingly long time to tie your shoelaces or adjust your dress or accessories like you're so done with it while thanking your own clumsiness for the little messes you make. But if you can position your head on your hand in a certain angle and look at a far of place as if in intense reverie or thought it's just wah! You're an expert!


A noisy, crowded auditorium means a peaceful, deserted campus

This could be my favourite phenomena. When there is an event, there is noise and crowd. But it also means that it is concentrated on a specific area and the rest of the campus is free for your comfortable perusal and exploration. I know how this line of thought might resemble how a criminal chooses his/her crime scene...but I assure you that my intentions behind this logical reasoning is purely innocent and harmless. I just want to sit on the benches that are always occupied during weekdays and enjoy the greenery in the campus in silence. So it's just a shy girl's wish.


As much as enjoying solo strolls along deserted paths sound interesting, taking safety precautions is important. It's always better to walk around in groups or atleast with one friend. If at all you need to go alone, keep your close ones informed of your whereabouts. Being cautious isn't a sign of weakness but that of smartness. So never shy away from adventures nor hesitate with safety measures.


All the above experiences I shared are not exclusive to introverts or any other type of people. I personally believe that human beings cannot be strictly classified into any category based on their personality. And that space of instability is what gives us the power to change ourselves for the better or the worse. So keep growing and developing your self while enjoying and embracing this journey called life.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hostel Life Experience So Far

From 12th grade, I've always imagined how it would be to stay away from home for studies or work. I've been a day scholar throughout my...

Comments


bottom of page