top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAnagha Anil

THE VOICE IN THE DARK

 




I hear it again, her wails

That strikes my chest,

From within.

 

She holds my heart,

Her fingers squeezing

To push out the anguish.

She is reaching out to whom?

So desperately…and furiously!

It is just me, the night, and the moon here.

 

Twisting and turning

I'm tangled in the sheets

Like caught by a snake.

It's cold, so cold…

But within, it’s colder

Like a mortuary.

 

I’m the one She is choking

Yet, we both can’t breathe.

She is fighting my mind

That neglected our heart

And failed to feel.

 

Am I the master or slave to her enemy…

I don’t know anymore.

How did it come to this,

The change was ever so discreet.

I can’t feel the pulse

That She can,

Yet I feel the pain all the same.

Maybe, it is not too late.

 

My head hurts.

It is tearing me apart,

Yet She is intact.

Though the heart is ours

I guess the mind is just mine.

 

Too loud and painful -

My heart beats in rhythm

To her woeful cries.

My body sweats in the cold,

my eyes join in too.

 

My breath is hitching

I’m losing focus.

I see all black-

But it's not the night.

I fade into oblivion

While She still cries.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hostel Life Experience So Far

From 12th grade, I've always imagined how it would be to stay away from home for studies or work. I've been a day scholar throughout my...

Σχόλια


bottom of page